Anime

Targeted Seasonal Anime of 2017 (Winter/Spring)

As the year 2017 unfolds, so does a new treasure chest of excellent anime series starts to knock at our door. Now, if you all remember, in my post of a review of 2016, which I posted on the New Year’s Eve, I gave you all a vague idea about what I will be eyeing to watch this year. So today, I wanted to give you a detailed tour of those seasonal anime which I’m thinking of checking out (Well, only the season of Winter and Spring, because anime of the other seasons are not really published in the site from where I got all these info) ! Now in this post, I will be telling you about the synopsis I read in livechart.me and why I thought of checking them out. So without further wait, let’s get right into it!

NOTE: The site Livechart.me is not sponsored, even though I wish they did. But if you find this synopsis to be helpful then be sure to check this site out.

  • Musamune kun no revenge:
    1

    “As an overweight child, Makabe Masamune was mercilessly teased and bullied by one particular girl, Adagaki Aki. Determined to one day exact his revenge upon her, Makabe begins a rigorous regimen of self-improvement and personal transformation.

    Years later, Masamune re-emerges as a new man. Handsome, popular, with perfect grades and good at sports, Masamune-kun transfers to Aki’s school, and is unrecognizable to her. Now, Masamune-kun is ready to confront the girl who bullied him so many years ago and humiliate her at last. But will revenge be as sweet as he thought?”- LIVECHART.ME

    I have heard so many mixed reviews about this anime so far, some says that it wasn’t that good as it has that negative background, while others say that this anime is actually pretty interesting; however, one thing that is pretty obvious is that ‘Masamune kun no revenge’ is undoubtedly the only good anime in the romance genre to have attain such popularity and hype for the Winter 2017 season. I think it’s worth a shot!

  • Fuuka:
    4

    “Yuu Haruna has transferred to a school in Tokyo so he can live with his sisters after their parents moved to America. Introverted and unskilled at socializing with others, Yuu’s main mode of communication is Twitter. As he’s scoping out his new surroundings with his eyes on his smartphone, he crashes into Fuuka Akitsuki, a girl who appeared in front of him out of nowhere. Centered on the awkward and unsocial Yuu Haruna, the mysteriously charming Fuuka Akitsuki, and Yuu’s childhood friend Koyuki Hinashi, a brand new love story woven through music is about to begin.”- LIVECHART.ME

    I have this routine of watching at least 2 musical anime series in a year. I don’t know what attracts me to that genre, but at least it has produced some good stories till now, and what’s more that it always has some kind of a background romantic story! So, I also have high expectations for Fuuka in this season too!

  • March comes in like a lion:
    5

    “Rei Kiriyama is a 17-year-old boy who recently started living alone, financed by his salary as a professional Shogi player. Despite his independence, however, he’s yet to mature emotionally, and his problems continue to haunt him in his daily life. His relationship with his adoptive family is strained, and he has difficulties interacting with his fellow high school students. Meanwhile, his professional career has entered a slump. Burdened with the heavy expectations placed on him as the fifth to become pro in middle school, his wins and losses are fluctuating as his record and progression into the ranks begin to stagnate.

    Acquainted with Rei are the three Kawamoto sisters: Akari, Hinata, and Momo. Unlike Rei, they live happily in their modest home, which they warmly welcome Rei into as if he were one of their own. Despite his reservations about becoming too close to the family, he frequently visits, interacting with them and receiving the kind of care and affection he never quite had while under his foster home.

    This is the story of Rei’s triumphs and failures, relationships new and old, and his growth as a person.”- LIVECHART.ME

    So, I have heard about this series too and I have been thinking of watching this series as soon as it ends (Somebody told me that it had 12 episodes and I believed in him. You don’t know how much it hurt me when I learned that it’s still airing and I can’t download the batch! ;_; ) But however, I hope that this Slice-of-life based sports anime will be quite interesting to experience when the time comes.

  • All Out:
    6

    “In Rugby, there is no Ace Striker and there is no No.4 Batter, so who is the star of the team? The story begins at school entrance ceremony of Kanagawa High School where Kenji Gion, a small but gutsy go-getter joins the rugby club.

    Kenji joins with his classmate, Iwashimizu, who has a complicated past, and sub-captain Hachioji, who always takes good care of his Club members. Lastly, there is Captain Sekizan, who has overwhelming powers, but keeps his cards close to his chest. With such differences in both personality and physical performance, the team must learn to work and grow together to become the best.”- LIVECHART.ME

    You thought that it was a baseball anime, didn’t you? Huh? Huh? (I hope at least someone did ;_; ) I like sports anime, regardless of it’s cliches because somehow it gives me hope when I’m depressed and all. Also, if I gave chance to the Karuta based sports anime, then why shouldn’t I do it for Rugby too? (At least I know the name of this sport)

  • Blue exorcist S2:
    7

    “Assiah, the realm of humans, and Gehenna, the realm of demons. Normally, these two dimensions would never intersect, but having possessed all material substances, the demons are now intruding on the material world. But among the human race, there are those who can exorcise such demons—the exorcists.

    Rin Okumura kept the fact that he was Satan’s offspring a secret from everyone and decided to become an exorcist. He began his training at True Cross Academy but following the incidents involving Amaimon’s raid, his lineage became apparent. Fearing his true nature and the blue flames marking his connection to Gehenna, Rin’s classmates all distanced themselves from him. Meanwhile, the academy was on high alert when they realized that the “Left Eye of the Impure King” had been stolen! What lies ahead for Rin and his classmates?”- LIVECHART.ME

    When I first watched Blue exorcist, my reaction was literally like…. meh, and if I remember correctly, it got dropped for a week or two. But when I started watching the series seriously, I realised that it was not that bad, and so today, here I am with my list… waiting for the second season of Blue exorcist. I hope that it will be good, but we have to remember that Action anime are prone to self destruct.

  • Boku no hero academia S2:
    2

    “There’s a new hero in town! “My Hero Academia” is a superhero origin story that soars to the top of the class!

    Izuku has dreamt of being a hero all his life—a lofty goal for anyone, but especially challenging for a kid with no superpowers. That’s right, in a world where eighty percent of the population has some kind of super-powered “quirk,” Izuku was unlucky enough to be born completely normal. But that’s not going to stop him from enrolling in one of the world’s most prestigious hero academies. Now, the only thing standing between him and his first class is the academy’s formidable entrance exam—nothing a little private tutoring from the world’s mightiest hero can’t solve.”- LIVECHART.ME

    I’m so glad I wrote this post, because if I didn’t I wouldn’t have known about this news. BOKU NO HERO ACADEMIA IS BACK!! I love the first season so much, maybe more because I heard so much about the series before watching it. The ending of the last season gave us a hint of a brewing conspiracy, so let’s keep our fingers crossed and wait for what the second season beholds for us.

  • Okusama ga seito kaichou!+!:
    3

    “The kiss to seal their promise was on her left breast?! The charismatic student council president turned out to be his uninvited, completely defenseless bride. After being forced to live together, is his virtue on the verge of destruction?! There’s just a little bit of ♡ in this romantic comedy about living under the same roof!”- LIVECHART.ME

    After the first season with so many ballistic ecchi and heartwarming but comedic scene, I’m so looking forward to this series which maybe is going to be the only ecchi-comedy based anime of this list. Even though I don’t actually like ecchi animes, you can say that ‘Okusama ga seito kaichou!+!’ will be an exception for me. (I hope I get a wife like her soon!)

  • Hibike! Euphonium:
    8

    “Second season of ‘Hibike! Euphonium’ Having won first place in the Kyoto Concert Band Competition, the Kitauji High School Concert Band prepares to go up against the many esteemed bands competing in the Kansai competition.”- LIVECHART.ME

    Now I haven’t watched the first season of this anime yet, but I tell you what, I’m really excited to give it a shot for two reasons; First, it fulfils my requirement of 2 musical animes per year criteria, Second, THE CHARACTERS IN THIS ANIME ARE SO PRETTY LOOKING!!! Ahem… well not that I wanted to get all excited but GOD THEY ALL LOOK SOOOOOOO PRETTY!!!!

  • Kuzu no honkai:
    1

    “17-year-old Awaya Mugi and Yasuraoka Hanabi appear to be the ideal couple. They are both pretty popular, and they seem to suit each other well. However, outsiders don’t know of the secret they share. Both Mugi and Hanabi have hopeless crushes on someone else, and they are only dating each other to soothe their loneliness. Mugi is in love with Minagawa Akane, a young teacher who used to be his home tutor. Hanabi is also in love with a teacher, a young man who has been a family friend since she was little. In each other, they find a place where they can grieve for the ones they cannot have, and they share a loneliness-driven physical intimacy. Will things stay like this for them forever?”- LIVECHART.ME

    If you read this synopsis, is it just me or does this anime sounds really inappropriate? (I hope that I’m not the only one) Just look at this synopsis, at first it seems like one of those critical looking love triangle thing and then you realise that no it’s not, it’s just some high school students who just love their teachers……… more than a student should. But you know what, I actually think that this anime might just be good. I don’t know why, but I have this hunch. Let’s see if it does fulfils my expectations or not.

HONOURABLE MENTIONS:

9
In the Spring 2017, we also have a continuation of two anime series which has a great fan following. While one of them is newer to the latter, it will be fun to see which will emerge as the sole winner. In my honourable mention list, we have Attack on Titans S2 and Boruto: Naruto New Generation. Now I’m on both of the sides here as I found the movie Boruto to be quite amazing, I also know the AOT doesn’t gets so much fan following without any effort. So, I will be sure to watch AOT first season before the second season airs and try to catch up to Naruto Shippuden. (Even though the new generation probably wouldn’t have anything to do with the previous story line)
10

So, that sums up my list of those seasonal anime which I will try to watch in the first half of this year. Which series are you eyeing for? Be sure to tell me if this post was of any help for you to plan your series. Thank you for reading my blog!

 

 

Leave a Reply

